How To Hide One Friend From Another on Facebook

On Facebook, once you friend someone, they normally can see all of your friends by default. This is not very helpful if you want to friend someone, but don’t want that friend to know about another friend that you may have. Maybe you’re friends with two people who were together, but are now split up and may be they hate each other.

Is there a way to prevent a friend from seeing another friend of yours ? As of right now, you can only block a friend from seeing all of your other friends. There is no way to block a friend from seeing just one friend. You have to hide your entire friend list from one or both friends so that they can’t see each other.

You can also configure it so that only you can see your list of friends and no one else can, but that’s a bit complicated if you just want to prevent two friends from seeing each other. I’ll show you how to configure both options below.

So if you need to prevent someone from seeing who your other friends are, then you can follow the steps below to setup Facebook.

Hide Friends from Each Other on Facebook

First, click on your name at the top to view your profile. Now click on the little down arrow icon that is located at the top right of the Friends section and click on Edit Privacy. The Friends section will appear along the left-hand side below Photos.

Note that you can also click on your name, then click on the Friends tab at the top and then click on the little pencil icon at the far right. The only option will be Edit Privacy.

This will bring up the Edit Privacy dialog. Go ahead and click on the little icon to the right and you’ll see a few options. If you click on Only Me, you’ll be the only person who can view your friend list. This is a bit extreme because it means NO ONE will be able to see who your friends are.

If you want to just prevent ONE person from seeing your entire list of friends, you need to click on Custom.

Under the Don’t share with section, go ahead and type in the name of the person you want to hide your friend list from. If you are trying to prevent two of your friends from seeing each other on your friend list, you’ll have to put in both of their names in the Don’t share with box so that neither can see your friend list.

However, like I said before, this means they won’t be able to see ANY of your friends, which might make them a bit suspicious as to why you’re blocking them from seeing your list of friends.

Share Button